Carthage wins sixth-straight CCIW Volleyball Tournament title

Carthage wins sixth-straight CCIW Volleyball Tournament title

KENOSHA, Wis. -- Carthage won its sixth-straight College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin (CCIW) Volleyball Tournament title on Saturday with a 3-2 victory over Elmhurst in a match that featured two nationally-ranked teams.

The 11th-ranked Lady Reds' won their ninth CCIW Tournament title in school history as they went the distance against the 17th-ranked Bluejays, who came into the match having won 17 in a row. Carthage's winning game scores were 25-17, 25-21, 22-25, 22-25, 17-15.
The Lady Reds, the conference's regular season champion, also won CCIW tournament titles in 1990, 1993, 2003 and 2006-2010.

With the win, Carthage earned the CCIW's automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Women's Volleyball Championship, its seventh-straight appearance. The NCAA will announce all of the pairings on Monday, November 7 at 10 a.m. central time via an Selection Show. 

2011 CCIW All-Tournament Team
Kelsy England - Millikin
Kaitlyn Graham Novosad - Wheaton
Antonéya Veasy Smith - Elmhurst
Megan Reynolds - Elmhurst
Michelle Madeja - Carthage
Drewann Pancratz - Carthage
Lauren Dembkowski - Carthage (Tournament MVP) 

Tournament Site